We stand for excellence in undergraduate and graduate level research and education in the geosciences.

The Harquail School of Earth Sciences (HES) and Mineral Exploration Research Centre comprise award-winning faculty (including three GAC-MDD Duncan Derry Medal winners) and award-winning students, and presently have the highest level of NSERC and TGI funding in economic geology of any university in Canada. 

HES and MERC are housed in the Willet Green Miller Centre, overlooking Ramsey Lake and the Laurentian Lake Conservation Area. Located in the world's largest mining cluster in Sudbury, Ontario, Canada, on the rim of one of the world's oldest, largest, and best-exposed asteroid impact sites, and on rocks of the Canadian Shield, we have a setting for field-based teaching and research that cannot be duplicated elsewhere. 

The wide range of geological environments, including Precambrian volcano-sedimentary belts, the Huronian Basin, the Grenville orogenic complex, and Paleozoic sequences, offers unparalleled opportunities for undergraduate and graduate studies in ore deposits, structural geology, geophysics, mineralogy, igneous and metamorphic petrology, sedimentology, stratigraphy, paleontology and environmental geosciences. 

 

Who we are, What we do!

Harquail $10M Investment

Laurentian's Largest Funding Announcement

 

Contact Us

Contact Name Phone Email
Director Douglas Tinkham (705) 675-1151 ext. 2270 dtinkham@laurentian.ca
Admin Assistant Roxane Mehes (705) 675-1151 ext. 6575 RMehes@laurentian.ca 
BSc Program Coordinator Michael Schindler (705) 675-1151 ext. 2368 mschindler@laurentian.ca
MSc Program Coordinator Alessandro Ielpi (705) 675-1151 ext. 2267 AIelpi@laurentian.ca
Applied MSc Program Coordinator Daniel Kontak (705) 675-1151 ext. 2352 dkontak@laurentian.ca
PhD Program Coordinator Pedro Jugo (705) 675-1151 ext. 2106 pjugo@laurentian.ca
Communications Manager Lindsay Cooper (705) 675-1151 ext. 2135 lcooper1@laurentian.ca
Geoscience Technologist Tobias Roth (705) 675-1151 ext. 2273 tm_roth@laurentian.ca

 

 

935 Ramsey Lake Road
Sudbury, Ontario
P3E 2C6
Canada

hes@laurentian.ca

+1 (705) 675-1151 ext 6575