Interested in the Harquail School of Earth Sciences?

Fill out this form and we will contact you with details about our programs!

Learn More!

Harquail students celebrate scholarship successes!

Congratulations to 30 Harquail School of Earth Sciences students at Laurentian University for receiving well over $100,000 combined in scholarships and awards during the 2017-2018 academic year!


Photo: Derek Leung from Laurentian University (on right) with his friend Joachim de Fourestier, Carleton University; both students have received the APGO Education Foundation Scholarship in 2018.


We would like to recognize the variety of scholarships and awards that our Laurentian University students have received due to the generosity of the following organizations or donors:

  • Society of Economic Geologists Canada Foundation (SEGCF) research grant awarded to Charlotte Stone, Dylan McKevitt, Christopher Beckett-Brown and Elliot Wehrle

  • NSERC – Canada Graduate Scholarship – Master’s Program awarded to Christopher Beckett-Brown

  • NSERC – Canada Undergraduate Research Awards – Derek Leung and Brittaney Courchesne

  • Association of Professional Geoscientists of Ontario (APGO) Education Foundation awarded to Derek Leung

  • Ontario Graduate Scholarship from the Government of Ontario awarded to Robert Meek, Colin Ross and Elliot Wehrle

  • Canadian Mineral Industry Exploration Foundation (CMIEF) awarded to Andrew Bradley, Derek Leung, Jade Lockie, Katherine Cambly, Kevin Kotylak, Lucas Roy, Mia Tullio and William Scott

  • Dean’s Entrance Scholarship, Laurentian University, for M.Sc. in Geology awarded to Adrian Rehm, Amir Ghahforokhi, Robert Meek, Thomas Gore and Well-Shen Lee

  • Dean’s Entrance Scholarship, Laurentian University, for PhD in Mineral Deposits and Precambrian Geology awarded to Eric Roots, Francisca Maepa, Malose Langa and Marina Schofield

  • David Beilhartz Award, Laurentian University, awarded to Elliot Wehrle

  • JP Bickell Award, Laurentian University, awarded to Charlotte Stone

  • Ronald C. Wells Geological Education Fund awarded to Charlotte Stone

  • Mineralogical Association of Canada Travel Grant awarded to Christopher Beckett-Brown

  • The Walker Mineralogical Club (Peacock Prize 2018) awarded to Christopher Beckett-Brown

  • The Canadian Geological Foundation’s Jérôme H. Remick III Student Poster Award was went to Thomas Gore (2nd place at at RFG2018)

  • David Elliot Best Paper Award 2017 awarded to Jordan McDivitt

  • McKechnie-Rousell Bursary 2017-2018 awarded to Michael Goble and Matthew Wyszatko

  • James F. Davies Memorial Bursary 2017-2018 awarded to Matthew Brown

  • Douglas Williamson Bursary 2017-2018 awarded to Cassandra Ranger and Jade Lockie

  • PDAC-SEG 2018 Student Mineral Colloquium Awards:
    Marina Schofield, 2nd Best PhD poster overall
    Elliot Wehrle, Best LU BSc poster
    Natascia Zuccarelli, Best LU MSc poster
    Evan Hastie, Best LU PhD poster

Faculty and staff at the Harquail School celebrate our students’ continued and extensive scholarship successes, which attest to the Harquail School’s strength in academic excellence, being ranked #1 in Canada in National Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) funding in Economic Geology and in Applied Geophysics. We strongly encourage our existing and future students at Laurentian University to apply for these and other scholarships. For those students who received awards over the past academic year, we welcome you to submit your award to hes@laurentian.ca so we can acknowledge your achievements in future communications.

We would also like to acknowledge the substantial research funding for our students from our mineral exploration industry partners who are not listed in this article. Although we share the excitement and are thankful for funding support of our students in every instance, the purpose of this announcement is to raise awareness about recent successful funding outside the private sector.